2012 Pfizer Teacher Development Award – Dr. Jason A. Hudak

HUNTINGTON — Dr. Jason A. Hudak, a three-time Marshall University graduate, has been selected as a recipient of the 2012 Pfizer Teacher Development Award, given to only 13 physicians nationwide by the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation.

The Pfizer award is presented to community-based, new physicians who combine their clinical practice with part-time teaching of family medicine. Hudak has a private practice in Barboursville and serves as volunteer clinical faculty member with the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine.

“I was really surprised to receive this award,” Hudak said, in a news release. “As a new volunteer faculty member, I was learning to teach just as much as the students were learning to learn. It’s been an unexpected blessing.”
Hudak graduated from Marshall with his undergraduate degree in 2001 and then with his medical degree in 2005. He completed a residency in Family Medicine in 2007.

Hudak was nominated by colleagues in the Marshall Department of Family and Community Health, including Dr. Mitch Shaver, who is residency director for the department.

This is the second time a Marshall University Family Medicine residency graduate has received the Pfizer Teaching Development Award. Last year, Dr. Scott Davis was also recognized.

Hudak will be honored at the organization’s Scientific Assembly meeting later this year in Philadelphia.

Comments Off on 2012 Pfizer Teacher Development Award – Dr. Jason A. Hudak

Filed under News

Comments are closed.